Select Page

Compare ISO 9001, ISO 14001, ISO 45001, and ISO 50001

The newest revisions of many ISO standards were intentionally developed to be compatible with one another. These standards are based off of ISO 9001:2015, and use the new high level structure (Annex L).   

What Standards Use Annex L?

ISO 45001 is not be the first ISO management standard to employ Annex L, nor will it be the last. The following is a list of standards that already employ Annex L.

  • ISO 9001:2015 Quality Management System
  • ISO 14001:2015 Environmental Management System
  • ISO/IEC 27001, Information technology: Security techniques, Information security management systems
  • ISO 45001:2018 Occupational Health & Safety Management System
  • ISO 50001:2018 Energy Management Systems

And there are some sectors that implemented Annex L including:

  • International Automotive Task Force – IATF 16949
  • International Aerospace Quality Group (IAQG) – AS9100/10/20

Integrating an IMS can be more effective and efficient than maintaining individual systems. Whichever method you choose, here is some information:


Integration Options

There are three primary options the organization must choose between:

  1. Maintaining separate systems (9001/14001/450001/50001)
  2. Partially integrated systems
  3. Fully integrated systems

We offer six versions of the Documentation Package to simplify the process for organizations that already have other management systems (ISO 9001, ISO 14001, etc.) in place or want to deal with more than one standard at a time. We also offer a completely integrated manual.

Compare ISO 9001-14001-45001-50001

Download Compare Chart

There are ten common elements in ISO 9001, ISO 14001, ISO 45001, and ISO 50001:

  1. Scope
  2. Normative References
  3. Terms and Definitions
  4. Context of the Organization
  5. Leadership
  6. Planning
  7. Support
  8. Operation
  9. Performance Evaluation
  10. Improvement

An IMS takes advantage of these common elements and implementation of 14001, 45001 and 50001 is simplified into an existing ISO 9001 certified organization.

The most recent QMS, EMS, OHSMS, and EnMS standards have implemented the same high level structure (Annex L), in order to make implementing multiple standards an easier status.

More Comparisons between ISO 9001, ISO 14001, ISO 45001 and ISO 50001

ISO 9001 is a Quality Management System (QMS) which gives organizations a systematic approach for meeting customer objectives.

ISO 14001 is an Environmental Management System (EMS) which provides a system for measuring and improving an organization’s environmental impact.

ISO 45001 is an Occupational Health and Safety Management System (OHSMS) which provides a system for measuring and improving an organization’s health and safety impact.

ISO 50001 is an Energy Management System (EnMS) the purpose of implementing a standard is to allow your organization to establish a system to continually improve its energy performance.


One important difference between ISO 45001 and other international standards is that an organization can self-declare their compliance. Learn More

ISO Brochure on Integrated Management Systems

ISO-9001-and-14001ISO has published a combined book and CD giving organizations advice on how to make integrated use of management system standards.


Our Integration Solutions are proven, efficient systems. They give you all you need to prepare for integration – in one simple to use package.

Buy the Standard

16949 Store Logo  Integrated Standard

Customer Review:

"I have just passed my Audit with zero non-conformances for the second year in a row using your products. Thank you for producing documents of this quality"

Bettye Patrick

United Plating, Inc